Skip to content

OA format by company

For anyone who just got an OA invite and wants the format before opening it. Sixty companies, as of Oct 2026, from official pages and recent candidate reports. Formats vary by role, region, team and season.

How to use this page

  1. Find your company below. Read the Platform and Time columns first.
  2. Open that platform's section on OA platforms for scoring rules and free practice.
  3. Compare with your invite. The invite wins. If they disagree, the format changed.
  4. Read the last 3 months of reports for your company: the company's LeetCode Discuss topic (swap the company name in the URL, sort by newest) and its company page linked in the table.
  5. Ask your recruiter anything the invite leaves out: language limits, allowed docs, whether AI is allowed.

How to read the table:

  • Official means the company's own careers page says it. Everything else is reported by candidates, with the month where it matters.
  • Varies by role means sources disagree. The table gives the most recent sourced claim and flags the older one.
  • Company names link to the company guide, which lists the sources and the most asked questions.

By platform

Platform Companies (as of Oct 2026)
HackerRank Amazon, Microsoft, Goldman Sachs, JPMorgan, Citadel, Two Sigma, D. E. Shaw, Stripe, IBM, Salesforce, Cisco, Expedia, Adobe, Oracle, ServiceNow, Nutanix, Snowflake, DoorDash, Palantir, Rippling, Walmart, OpenAI, Agoda, Uber (2026 reports), Visa (from Feb 2026), Nvidia (when used), Hudson River Trading (or Codility)
CodeSignal Capital One, Visa, Pinterest, TikTok, Meta (some roles), Netflix (intern reports), Airbnb, Anthropic, Coinbase, eBay, Robinhood, Instacart, Databricks (when used), Roblox (coding part), PhonePe (lateral)
Codility Palo Alto Networks, Microsoft (earlier cycles), Hudson River Trading (or HackerRank), Google (some off-campus)
Other Google Hiring Assessment (Google's own), SHL/AMCAT (Morgan Stanley India), Glider.ai (Intuit India), HackerEarth and Unstop (Flipkart), Karat (PayPal, Walmart US), Roblox's own games
Usually no OA Bloomberg, Jane Street, Waymo, Tesla, Snap, Spotify, Cloudflare (most tracks), Anduril, Apple (many US teams), DoorDash (many US SWE I), Nvidia (many US teams)

FAANG

Company Platform Questions Time Extra sections Notes
Amazon HackerRank, webcam on Official: 2 coding problems. Reported since Apr to May 2026: 1 DSA problem plus 1 AI-assisted repo task (fix bugs in a Node/MERN, Spring Boot or Django app) Official: coding about 70 min. Reported 2026: a coding challenge of about 100 min (40 to 45 DSA, 55 to 60 repo) Workstyles (about 15 min, built on the Leadership Principles), feedback survey (about 5 min). Full-time only: Work Simulation (official average 60 min; the page also says "You are provided 120 minutes") Official page grades "the clarity, maintainability, and efficiency of your code", and its FAQ says "A webcam is required at the start of the code debugging test". Intern page lists no Work Simulation, but 2026 intern reports include one (about 45 min) plus a Work Style survey (about 6 min): varies by role. Print screen ends the session. Avoid copy-paste (Amazon OA prep)
Google Google Hiring Assessment for most applicants (official). Coding OA on HackerRank, Codility or Google's platform for some GHA: agree or disagree statements (Aced: 50 to 75 items). Coding: 1 to 2 problems Coding 60 to 90 min (reported) GHA measures "workstyle skills" (official) Referral and recruiter-sourced candidates often skip the coding OA. India campus OAs: 2 hard problems with hidden tests. After a no, Google asks you to "wait at least a year" for the same type of role (Google how we hire)
Meta CodeSignal, proctored (camera, mic, screen) New grad: 1 progressive problem in 4 stages, or 4 separate problems. Intern: 4 problems of rising difficulty New grad 90 min. Intern about 70 min Some candidates: a Likert-scale behavioral survey Not everyone gets an OA. Meta's official first step for most SWE candidates is a 45-minute technical screen (Meta tech screen). Reference docs allowed, no AI. Most candidates do not finish all 4 stages
Apple Varies by team: CoderPad or HackerRank-style 2 coding, sometimes 15 to 20 MCQs on the team's stack 60 to 70 min Stack MCQs (JavaScript/React, Java) Many US teams skip the OA and start with a recruiter or hiring manager call. Some IS&T roles fix the language to Java
Netflix CodeSignal (2025 to 2026 student reports). Official first step for students: a "take-home assessment" Intern (Oct 2025 reports): 4 coding questions, then a separate AI-assisted General Coding Assessment 70 min for the coding part AI-assisted GCA, scored separately Netflix does not publish the format. ML and AI intern versions are more ML-flavored. Treat the assistant as a pair: plan, check its code, keep moving
Microsoft HackerRank in most 2025 to 2026 reports. Codility in earlier cycles Usually 2: one easier, one medium or hard. A Feb 2025 Codility OA (SDE II) had 3 in 60 min 60 to 110 min (India campus intern: 75 min) none India campus OAs report tab-switch and paste detection. Passing every test does not guarantee a call. Official rule: no outside assistance "unless explicitly permitted" (Microsoft how we hire)

Read: The Definitive Guide for Meta & Amazon Engineering Interviews: Jugal's Feb 2026 walkthrough of Amazon's three OA sections (coding, Work Simulation, Work Style). His tips for the two non-coding sections are on strategy.

Big tech

Company Platform Questions Time Extra sections Notes
Nvidia HackerRank (official how-we-hire page names it for coding exercises). Campus tests in India When used (Aced): a 75-min HackerRank test with at least 2 DSA questions plus MCQs. India campus: aptitude and C MCQs plus 2 coding 60 to 75 min Aptitude, C, pointers. One 2024 India test had negative marking (29 questions, 60 min) Many US SWE candidates skip a standalone OA. Official: using "unapproved outside tools, such as ChatGPT" leads to disqualification (Nvidia how we hire)
Uber HackerRank (2026 reports). CodeSignal historically 2 to 4 65 to 90 min none Jan 2026: 90 min, 2 questions (medium plus advanced). A SWE I report (Jan 2026): a 65-minute round with MST, DSU and next-greater-element problems. US new grad reports on CodeSignal used the 4-question GCA shape. Partial solutions have advanced (3 of 4 solved)
LinkedIn Not named in reports India intern and new grad: 2 to 3 DSA, one hard about 90 min none US and experienced candidates usually start with a 60-minute CoderPad phone screen. Aug 2026 India OA needed multi-source Dijkstra
Salesforce HackerRank AMTS: 3, the last one hard. MTS and SMTS: 2 medium AMTS 90 to 100 min. MTS 75 min none A May 2026 C++ OA: 2 questions worth 50 and 75 marks, 80% to qualify
Adobe HackerRank. Unstop for the India Hackathon US intern and new grad (Nov 2024 report): 3 LeetCode mediums. India campus: 2 coding plus CS MCQs Not stated OS, DBMS, OOP MCQs (India) FY27 intern candidates asked about a bug-fix and code-review item. Replies say mostly DSA plus small debugging
Oracle HackerRank India campus: 2 coding plus MCQ sections Experienced: 60 min Aptitude, reading, probability, OS, DBMS, networks, OOP, SQL, REST Little US early-career data
Intuit Glider.ai (India campus). Off-campus platform not named Campus intern: 4 DSA. SE1 off-campus 2026: 1 DSA, 1 SQL, 1 Bash Campus 90 min, proctored SQL and Bash are scored Candidates who skipped SQL or Bash asked if they could still pass. Do all three
PayPal HackerRank. Karat for some US roles Intern: 1 to 2 DSA plus CS MCQs. Early career: 2 to 3 DSA plus Spring Boot/Java MCQs, SQL or a class-design task Intern 45 to 90 min MCQs, SQL, machine coding Mixed sections: time management decides the result
Visa CodeSignal (GCA style, still reported Aug 2026) and HackerRank tiered tests (from Feb 2026) CodeSignal: 4. HackerRank Expert: 3. New grad Sep 2026: 3 CodeSignal 70 min (90 in one drive). HackerRank 90 min none 567/600 was rejected (Dec 2025). 600/600 did not guarantee an interview. Check your invite for the platform
IBM HackerRank, proctored US: 2 (easy plus medium). Some 2026 roles: 1 DSA plus 1 REST API task. Some report 3 45 to 90 min, 60 most common. Link valid 7 days Some roles: recorded video and English tests. India: a second test with a framework bug-fix (Node.js, Spring Boot or Django) IBM says AI "should not be used: To complete assessments, technical tests, or coding challenges" (IBM application process)
Cisco HackerRank US: 2 to 4 easy or medium. India campus (Code with Cisco): 42 questions including 2 long coding problems about 90 min. US window about 2 weeks India: MCQs and written CS questions US OA is emailed right after you apply. Resumes are reviewed after the OA. Cisco lists "Generating the solution to a coding problem" in real time as poor AI use (Cisco GenAI practices)
Qualcomm Proctored MCQ test (India campus). Many US loops have no OA India campus Aug 2026: 60 MCQs in 3 sections 90 min C/C++ output prediction, bit manipulation, pointers, OS, architecture. +1 and -0.25 marking Qualcomm's interview policy bans AI tools, bots and LLMs in assessments unless Qualcomm asks (Qualcomm interview policy)
Tesla No standard OA When present: 1 to 3 practical problems (for example a JSONPath evaluator) Varies none Treat the first live technical round as the OA
Walmart Global Tech HackerRank (2026 off-campus). HackerEarth or HirePro (India campus). Karat (many US first rounds) 2026 HackerRank: 3 sections: 1 coding, 1 front-end task (React or Angular), 1 back-end task (Node, Spring or Django) Not stated Front-end and back-end sections allow an AI assist Back-end applicants still get the front-end section (Mar 2026). India campus 2024: 22 MCQs plus 2 coding in 75 min
eBay CodeSignal, GCA or ICA GCA: 4 (easy, easy, medium, medium). ICA: 1 project in 4 levels GCA 70 min. ICA 90 min none Recruiters may accept an existing CodeSignal score. Deep copies can fail ICA level 4 performance tests
Expedia HackerRank 3: usually 1 easy plus 2 medium, sometimes medium-hard 90 min (one report: 105) Emerging Talent: strength-based and skills assessments (official) Solving all 3 does not guarantee a call (Aug 2025 report: "Not Selected"). Statements are long; read the constraints (n up to 10^6). Up to 5 applications per 45 days (Expedia FAQ)
ServiceNow HackerRank 2 to 3 (medium, medium, hard) 60 to 90 min QA intern OA added Selenium, SQL, Jenkins MCQs and a prompt-writing task Official: complete tests without AI unless told otherwise
Palo Alto Networks Codility plus HireVue (US new grad 2025). Varies by country US Master's-level role (Aug 2026): 3 (1 basic, 2 intermediate). Israel: 3 easy to medium, on site 75 min (US, Aug 2026) HireVue video (US new grad 2025). India: aptitude and MCQs You are told in advance if an assessment applies (official FAQ)
Atlassian HackerRank (India 2026 grads). An Atlassian-branded IDE (2027-grad India OA, Aug 2026) 2 to 4 DSA. India campus around Codeforces 1600 about 90 min UK graduate track: psychometric tests first (Sep 2026) The OA is mandatory for early careers (Atlassian early careers guide). Experienced roles report a Karat screen instead
Spotify Not standard When used: LeetCode easy to hard, sometimes a logic puzzle n/a Data roles: SQL Most candidates go straight from the recruiter call to a live screen
Pinterest CodeSignal GCA Standard GCA: 4 70 min none Official: a passing score triggers the recruiter call. An ML intern advanced with 550. Confirm the question count in your invite
Snap Not consistently reported n/a n/a n/a Most 2025 to 2026 reports start with a live 60-minute screen on HackerRank. Ask your recruiter
TikTok (ByteDance) CodeSignal (most reports naming a platform). HackerRank-style mixed tests CodeSignal: 4. Americas 2025: 5 MCQs plus 2 coding CodeSignal 70 min. Americas mixed test 110 min MCQs. Front-end: a JS/TS debugging task TikTok sends a preparation kit with sample questions (official FAQ). A 600/600 Sydney candidate got no interview
Cloudflare HackerRank (some tracks) Not standardized n/a none US intern (Nov 2025): no OA. Canada intern: a HackerRank screen. Some environments make you parse stdin yourself
Nutanix HackerRank New grad (MTS 1): 2 medium plus CS MCQs (SQL, Linux, DSA) Not stated MCQs Campus drives may apply CGPA and branch cutoffs before the test
Airbnb CodeSignal ICA (Jul to Sep 2026 reports), often sent automatically 1 task in 4 levels: banking, cloud storage or task manager 90 min (standard ICA) none Screen share and mic stay on. Scores reported: 400, 440, 600 (600 was still rejected). Reports are for SWE and SSE roles, not confirmed for new grad postings

High-growth tech

Company Platform Questions Time Extra sections Notes
Stripe HackerRank (most). Unstop for an India intern drive (Sep 2026) 1 problem in 3 to 6 parts that build on each other 60 min (some 90) none All parts graded by hidden tests (20 in a Jul 2026 report). Reading and typing speed matter more than algorithms. 15 of 17 tests got one intern an interview
Databricks CodeSignal when used, camera on 3 of rising difficulty (Netherlands, Jan 2025) Not stated none Many 2025 to 2026 intern and new grad candidates had no OA at all
Snowflake HackerRank (most) 2 to 3, often LeetCode hard (DP, backtracking, graphs) 90 to 120 min SQL puzzles or ML questions in some variants Sent automatically to intern applicants. Copy-paste and tab switching restricted. Official policy (Jan 2026) bans AI on every assessment
DoorDash HackerRank A few LeetCode medium-hard Not stated none Many US SWE I candidates report no OA. The official FAQ goes from resume review to interviews
Lyft Varies: CoderPad multi-file test, Byteboard, or a timed OA Timed OA: 2 problems (Canada, Jul 2025). Byteboard: review a design doc, then implement 90 min or 2 hours Byteboard design-doc review Follow the AI rules in your invite
Coinbase CodeSignal plus a vendor cognitive and culture test Coding: 1 progressive task in 4 levels (some reports: 4 separate problems) Coding 90 min. Aptitude: about 50 questions in 15 min Cognitive and culture assessment, about 30 min (official). Personality survey, 100 to 200 items (reported) Candidates report needing at least 3 of 4 levels. One Apr 2026 loop added an AI-assisted coding OA
Robinhood CodeSignal Older reports: GCA shape, 4 questions about 70 min none No public cutoff. Thresholds like 820 or 850 in old posts used the retired scale
Palantir HackerRank Varies: DSA with production-quality code (new grad, Jun 2026); 2 medium plus a REST API task (Jul 2026); FDE intern: one 3-part build (Aug 2026) FDE intern about 90 min REST API task in some In the FDE task, watch rounding rules (half-even to the cent) and keep earlier parts working
Roblox Roblox's own game-based assessment plus CodeSignal Games (Robots, Factory, Outpost: Mars), about 23 workplace scenarios, 2 coding problems Coding about 50 min. The whole thing can be spread over a week Games and a situational test Practice games Kaiju Cats and Coding Cookies are untimed. One candidate solved both coding questions and was still rejected, so the games count
Instacart CodeSignal Mid to late 2026: an AI-enabled full-stack repo task in about 5 phases. Earlier 2026: 1 progressive problem in 5 parts, or 4 questions 90 min (progressive version) Chat with an AI product manager. One bug fix without AI Instacart's guide: AI may help organize thoughts but not complete the task, unless the stage asks for AI (Instacart AI usage guide)
Rippling HackerRank India SDE-1 and campus: 2 DSA, medium to hard. US intern (Jul 2026): 4 MCQs plus 3 coding 60 min (India) MCQs (US intern) Webcam and screen share. Referrals and US experienced candidates often skip the OA
Waymo No standard OA n/a n/a n/a Live technical screen instead. Official: "the use of AI tools or LLMs is not permitted" unless instructions say so (Waymo how we hire)
Anduril HackerRank Usually a live 60-minute HackerRank screen. Some roles send a take-home first 60 min none Prompts are vague on purpose. Clarify first, then get a working solution before optimizing

AI labs

Company Platform Questions Time Extra sections Notes
OpenAI HackerRank 2 algorithmic. An invite listed DP, graphs and arrays. Oct 2025 reports: both DP 110 min (Jan 2025 report) none Mainly in the Emerging Talent (intern and new grad) funnel. Camera on and full-screen share. Practice reading stdin
Anthropic CodeSignal 1 spec in 4 levels. Some 2026 Fellows OAs: extend a mid-sized existing codebase in 5 parts 90 min none Scored out of 600. No AI unless the instructions allow it (Anthropic candidate AI guidance). Topics per Jugal's Fellows post: data structures, algorithms, OOP, small systems, extending code as requirements change

Finance and quant

Company Platform Questions Time Extra sections Notes
Bloomberg Usually none for US SWE new grads and interns n/a n/a Plum assessment for certain entry-level roles (official) Round 1 is usually a live technical interview. Some roles use pre-recorded video or skills tests. The recruiter tells you
Goldman Sachs HackerRank Official (Aug 2026): Software Fundamentals (DSA, any language, everyone). Software Diagnostics (Engineering roles). Math MCQs (Quantitative Strategist roles only) 30 min, 45 min, 22 min (official) Diagnostics: diagnose and fix a Django, Node.js or Spring Boot app with a "limited" AI assistant that will not give the full solution 2025 to 2026 reports describe an older combined coding plus math test stated as 180 min: varies by role and cycle, follow your invite. Update "within three weeks" (Goldman Sachs HackerRank guide). Campus candidates report a HireVue after the OA
JPMorgan Chase HackerRank, video proctored (2026 reports) 2 coding about 60 min On-demand recorded video interview (official). Some India tests add MCQs Hidden tests are strict: brute force passes samples, fails hidden cases. Official: "many assessments may not be retaken for a designated timeframe", and JPMorgan recommends no more than three summer internship applications (JPMorgan FAQ)
Capital One CodeSignal, proctored 4 70 min none A matrix-command simulation (swap rows, rotate) recurs. 600/600 does not guarantee a Power Day. At most 5 active US applications at once (official FAQ)
Morgan Stanley SHL/AMCAT (India campus). HackerRank (lateral; US per secondary sources) India campus: 7 debugging, 24 interactive aptitude, 3 coding about 111 min (15 + 36 + 60) Debugging (save your code) and interactive aptitude Coding questions are reworded LeetCode classics (House Robber, Delete and Earn)
Citadel HackerRank Campus SWE: 2 to 3, medium to hard. Citadel Securities C++: 1 performance refactor. NXT program: 14 MCQs plus 1 coding 60 to 75 min (one 2025 invite: 66 min). NXT: 90 min NXT MCQs Official campus page starts with a video interview, but OA reports continue through Summer 2026. Expect DP and counting mod 1e9+7
Two Sigma HackerRank 2, medium to hard 90 min (2024 report) none Postings say AI tools are strictly prohibited. One intern solved 1 of 2 and still advanced
Jane Street Usually none for US SWE n/a n/a Trading roles: probability tests HackerRank tests reported for first and second-year programs and Asia campus hiring. Prepare for a live screen (Jane Street interviewing)
D. E. Shaw HackerRank (most) India new grad: 3 coding, 10 technical MCQs, 10 aptitude MCQs. US (Oct 2025): 4 medium-hard India 120 min. Senior 90 min MCQs with -0.5 for wrong answers. Sections cannot be revisited 1 full plus 1 partial solution has advanced
Hudson River Trading HackerRank or Codility (official 2021 blog) 2025 intern reports: 4 easy to medium with many hidden tests Timed none Books and the internet are allowed as a language reference (2021 blog). 2026 postings say AI tools are strictly prohibited unless instructed

India and Asia

Company Platform Questions Time Extra sections Notes
Flipkart HackerEarth (lateral). GRiD 8.0 registration on Flipkart's own event page (earlier GRiD editions used Unstop) Freshers: 3 DSA (easy, medium, hard). GRiD 8.0 (Jul 2026): 2 DSA, 1 SQL, 1 Python DataFrame Freshers 60 to 90 min. GRiD 8.0: 120 min reported (the event page said a 90-minute test): varies SQL and pandas (GRiD) Long story-style problems with STDIN/STDOUT. Shortlists go by test cases passed (GRiD 8.0 page)
PhonePe CodeSignal (lateral). Campus platform not named, camera on 4, DP-heavy, Codeforces-style Lateral about 70 min none 2 full plus 2 partial solutions got one candidate shortlisted
Agoda HackerRank (official) Interns: 3 to 4 DSA. IC1 (Jul 2025): 3. Experienced: plus a REST API question 30 to 60 min (official guide). IC1: 75 min REST API (experienced) Agoda's guide recommends a practice round and a stable connection

If your company is not here

  1. Check more companies for question lists.
  2. Search the company's LeetCode Discuss topic for "OA" and read only the last 3 months.
  3. Read the platform section on OA platforms. Most OAs are one of the three big platforms.
  4. Ask the recruiter. Use this message:
Hi [Recruiter name],

Thank you for the assessment link for [Role, Job ID]. Before I start, could you confirm:
1. Which programming languages can I use?
2. Can I use official language documentation during the test?
3. Is any AI assistant allowed, or none at all?
4. Is the test proctored (webcam, screen share, ID)?

Thank you,
[Your name]

Next: Strategy: prepare for and pass the OA